Jackson County Special Olympics
[mks_dropcap style=”circle” size=”45″ bg_color=”#000000″ txt_color=”#ffffff”]L[/mks_dropcap]et me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.


Golfers ranging in age 11 to 59 lived that motto during the Special Olympics Golf Tournament at Bear Lake Reserve on Oct. 23rd.

The Jackson County Dog Pack team hosted Might Madison County in a team tournament style format. Around 50 people attended. The athletes competed in skills challenges that included short putt, long putt, chip, pitch over a wall, iron shot and long drive.

The Jackson County Dog Pack took the gold with an average score of 44 to Mighty Madison’s 34. The day featured individual triumphs and teamwork between all of the athletes and coaches, Jackson County Special Olympics Golf Coach Jerry Rodinsky said.


More about Special Olympics

To get involved with Special Olympics contact County Coordinator Abigail Clayton at abby83061@hotmail.com.

“Everyone should attend a Special Olympics Competition at least once in their lifetime,” Rodinsky said. “Seeing the athletes strive to be champions will inspire you to be a better person and fill your heart with joy.”

Taking part from Jackson County were: Corey Hambrick, Jimmy Strickland, Devon Robertson, Matthew Carmona, Jason Hedrick, Austin Coburn and Rodinsky.

Taking part from Madison County were: Christopher Dockery, Peggy Elaine English, Eli Hooks, Amelya Jones, Sarah Male and Coach James Jones.

The Bear Lake Reserve management team, the Jackson County Recreation Center and the Jackson County Golf Club all supported the event.

There were some tremendous efforts by golfers like Sarah Male of Madison County. Sarah, who is visually impaired, sank a 20-footer in the long putt competition. The gallery erupted in cheers. On her long putts her caddie rings a bell extended on a fishing pole over the golf hole so she can put by sound.

Congratulations to all involved in putting on this tremendous event.

Photo above of Jackson County team – (From left to right) Matthew Carmona, Jason Hedrick, Austin Coburn, Corey Hambrick, Jimmy Strickland and Devon Robertson.